Fortum’s New Board Leadership and Share Acquisition Authorization Signal Continued Growth in the Energy Industry

Fortum’s Board Composition Decided at General Meeting

Fortum, a leading energy company, announced the results of its general meeting where nine individuals were elected to the board. Mikael Silvennoinen was named chairman of the board, while Essimari Kairisto was appointed vice president. The remaining members of the board include Ralf Christian, Luisa Delgado, Jonas Gustavsson, Marita Niemelä, Prank Paavola, Johan Söderström, and Vesa-Pekka Takala.

During the general meeting, discharge from liability for the 2023 financial year was granted to all board members and the CEO. Furthermore, a dividend of EUR 1.15 per share was approved for shareholders. In addition to these decisions, the board was also given authorization to decide on the acquisition of the company’s own shares. This authorization allowed for a maximum purchase and transfer of 20 million shares within the company’s capital structure.

It is worth noting that this decision revoked an earlier acquisition authorization that had been granted at Fortum’s previous annual general meeting in 2023.

Fortum has been one of Finland’s largest energy companies since its establishment in 1898. It operates across multiple markets and provides a range of products and services related to electricity generation and distribution.

The company has experienced significant growth over recent years due to its focus on renewable energy sources such as wind and solar power. It has also expanded its operations beyond Finland into other European countries such as Sweden and Norway.

With its new leadership team in place and an authorization to acquire shares within its own capital structure, Fortum is well-positioned for continued growth and success in the energy industry.

Leave a Reply